News & Features

  • YOKOHAMA Philippine GT Championship to kick off 2014 season

    The Yokohama Philippine Grand Touring Car Championship is raring to kick off the 2014 season this coming June 1 at the Batangas Racing Circuit (BRC).

    Yokohama Tires Sales Philippines, Inc. renews their title sponsorship as well as having the ADVAN A050 as the control tire for the Philippine Grand Touring Car Championship for the 2014 season.

    The six-round series will feature race cars compete in four classes based on horsepower rating: GT300, GT200, GT150, and GT100. Minor technical rule revisions; however, has been introduced in 2014 to tighten the competition. Race cars must now comply with a maximum torque limit, on top of the existing horsepower cap.

    The official contract signing between Mr Yuki Iwasa, Vice President of Yokohama Tire Sales Philippines, Inc. and Nelson Gayola, Managing Head for Corporate Communications Department of Batangas Racing Circuit, Inc. was held on May 27, 2014 at the Boom na Boom Complex, in Pasay City.

    “We have maintained a strong and fruitful relationship with Yokohama Tire Sales Philippines, Inc. over the years. Thus, it makes us very happy that they have once again partnered with the Philippine Grand Touring Car Championship for the 2014 season,” said Nelson Gayola, Batangas Racing Circuit, Inc. Managing Head for Corporate Communications Department.

    Notable drivers who'll compete in 2014 include Taysan Mayor Dondon Portugal, Willie Torres, VM Kaikkonen, and of course, 2013 GT300 and GT100 champions Jody Coseteng and Edwin Rodriguez. In cooperation with the Philippine Race Car Drivers Inc., this year's championship will also see Philippine Touring Car Championship driver such as Joey Perry, William Tan, and 2013 champion Carlos Anton join the Philippine GT grid.

    “We are looking forward to a yet another fruitful season, especially now that all touring car races in the Philippines are competing in one big series,” Gayola added.

    Practice and qualifying are scheduled on Saturday (May 31). On race day (June 1), there will be a 10-lap Sprint Race in the morning where the cars take off from a standing start. Then, the afternoon 17-lap GT Race will begin with a rolling start.

    Other support races slated for the race weekend include the Philminiracers Championships Series, VW KaFER Cup, Winds Formula Philippines, and the newly-formed Sparco Bracket Circuit Racing.

    2014 Yokohama Philippine GT Championship Race Schedule:
    Leg 1 May 31 - June 1 Batangas Racing Circuit
    Leg 2 July 26 - 27 Batangas Racing Circuit
    Leg 3 August 30 - 31 Clark International Speedway
    Leg 4 September 27 - 28 Clark International Speedway
    Leg 5 October 25 - 26 Batangas Racing Circuit
    Leg 6 November 29 - 30 Clark International Speedway


Find your tires

Choose by:

Don't know how to read tire?

Social Media Links